A RADICAL ROAD TO MIRACLES VIA “SPIRIT JUNKIE”

“It is not our darkness that frightens us most, it is our light. We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, fabulous and talented. Actually, who are you not to be? We are all meant to shine, and when you allow your own light to shine, you unconsciously give others permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, we automatically liberate others.”  ~ Marianne Williamson

This quote seems to be everywhere I look these days. It has been a guiding reminder of my own path and journey I am currently on.

Not even two weeks ago it was my closing statement in my TEDxKids@BC talk, but tonight I was elated to hear, Marianne Williamson has also been a teacher to Gabby Bernstein, well known author of   ”Add more ing to your Life,” and newest addition to her literally repertoire, A course in miracles, “Spirit Junkie.”

Last night I was joined with many friends and like minded powerful women as we sat and listened to Gabby tell her personal journey on her North American book tour. beautifully hosted and orchestrated by Conscious Divas, two lovely local Divas, Kate Muker and Julia King pioneering the next “we”volution of young and empowered women.

Gabby’s personal story is simple; it acts to instruct us all on how to “expect miracles” in our own lives, and to Be the Change, by Be-“ing” the Love throughout our own lives. Two statements came to me in the middle of the night, as I reflected on an amazing evening centered around gratitude and acceptance; and those statements are WE need to start telling stories. We need to expect miracles.

The truth is, we all have stories, epic tales of our own lives. We all have trials and tribulations, the desire to do and be more – and this concept, this ideology is the foundation of our spirit.

In my TEDxKids@BC talk, “The Re Invention of the Modern Day Superhero – the SuperHuman-itarian;’ a Superheroine is someone who has found or done something beyond the normal range of achievement of experience. A Superheroine is someone who has given his or her life to the service of others in some capacity, something larger then one’s self. They offer us a vision of a better world a changed world, a more unified world, and how WE can through the search for our own truth, our own significance and meaning in life, and how we can take the necessary steps to changing our own world, in a very real way.

We all have a story to be told and heard, we all have a path that unfolds before us. As I listened to her candid story I realized how many similarities there are between the chapters in her life and those of the women in our own community, in my own life and in  mom’s life, as she fought with addiction and fear. We are all trapped by our own fear. It reminded me  of a Salon Series, by the Vancouver Acumen Fund that featured Chimamanda Adichie’s classic TED talk warning of “The Danger of a Single Story,” and a short story in which Eisha-May Walker, a 12 year old girl living in Vancouver’s Downtown Eastside, reflects on her life in a neighbourhood commonly associated with poverty, substance abuse, and mental illness.

As I reflected, an idea sprung to me ~ our stories are unique, yet are shared experiences breed our commonality. More importamtly, how do we get Gabby’s amazing message to the many women and young girls who may not have the opportunity to attend an event like tonight’s? Women and young girls that are marginalized by poverty or disenfranchised.

Mosaic Heart of the Community - 2008 DTES Sidewalk Art

The women and girls I am talking about are the women and girls on the DTES, in inner city schools, in transitional programs, as well as the women and girls around the world who are compassionately fighting to have a voice, to have the choice to live better, more love filled lives. The women who may not have the resources via mainstream innovation or societal contexts.

My quest has always been to share, to connect and to empower in any capacity that comes to me, that talks to me and drives my work forward. RUN4ACAUSE is only part of the equation, its one vehicle by which I can spread awareness and love for great causes.

Today I pose these questions:

  1. How do we open the conversation to those outside the traditional framework of modern societal gatherings?
  2. How do we allow more women to tell their stories, express their own miracles and personal successes.
  3. How to we offer them A Course in Miracles? and What can you do to help facilitate this movement?

This will be my next endeavor during my “off season” from RUN4ACAUSE (aka my recovery season from Nov – Feb).

I beleive this may be a great topic for our own Salon Series, an open authentic conversation on “the road to radical miracles.” I welcome all comments and feedback and ask you to ponder and reflect. Spirit Junkie, is an amazing read and Gabby’s message will no doubt start a Re”love”olution!

For more info on Gabby Bernstein visit: http://gabbyb.tv/

For more info on Conscious Divas visit: http://www.consciousdivas.com/

About RUN4ACAUSE

I am what you would call a freelance do’gooder of all things bucketlist and philanthropically inclined. (a) Movement & Performance Coach (a) Social Crusader (a) Wannabe Superhero (a) Athlete (a) Advocate for Play (a) Compassion Junkie (a) Womens and Youth Activist (a) runner'of a' muck (a) Chief Fascia Facilitator (Yoga Teacher and MyoFascia Enthusiast) So, here it is, my BHAG (Big Hairy Audacious Goal) TO RAISE $1 MILLION DOLLARS before the age of 35! This is no small 'feet' to take on... A 10 year passion project; by which I harness the power behind the sports philanthropy movement by using my own middle of the pack talent - RUNNING! I am the founder of RUN4ACAUSE, and my goal is simple ~ to combine advocacy with sport and the foundation is to bring awareness to the power behind education, the power of our youth and women's economic empowerment worldwide! This blog is an ongoing Story Telling Series of my RUN4ACAUSE, where I aim to showcase the direct impact WE can make by empowering our youth to transform their world; by mobilizing them to engage in cultural exchange, gain a global perspective, and create and lead social change through the art of sport, and by the power of one voice. Imagine the possibilities! I hope this blog leaves you empowered, inspired and MOVED - so why don't you join me and RUN4ACAUSE!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment