POWER TO BE: THE FINALE RACE OF THE SEASON HERE I COME…50KM

Well the time is here. Exactly 6 days till my last race of the season, RUN4ACAUSE hangs up thier laces for a whole 3 months of recovery! Bhah aha haha …who are we kidding! Ok, so I mayyy not hang up my shoes, but nothin’ over 10km…AND of course my 6km per day pledge for CARE Canada for 365 days pledge till March 8th (International womens day).

On Sunday October 9th, I will be rocking the Victoria Marathon, supporting Power to Be Adventure Therapy. Now, of course I am a nutter and have to do everything unorthodox – so I am raising the bar, going out with a bang – running 50km! I mean, why not right? It’s for the kids!

Why should you pledge to support Power to Be?

My goal in 2012 is to change the face of mental health, to change the perspective of those who face mental and physical challenges and those who are disenfranchised, marginalized. Power To Be is in the business of changing lives by providing dynamic outdoor education programs that enrich the health and quality of life of youth, adults and families facing significant life challenges.

They achieve this mission by providing unique and inclusive year-round outdoor education curriculum that promotes physical heath and emotional well-being, advocates for accessibility, develops interpersonal and leadership skills, teaches environmental and social stewardship, offers peer mentorship and supports vocational opportunities. It’s EPIC!

You have the power to give…

….a kid living with cancer the chance to be a kid again

….a troubled teen an opportunity to grow in nature

….a person the opportunity to get out of their wheelchair and into a sea kayak

How cool is that!

In addition to an amazing org, their staff is equally amazing. Kevin Chapman, Director of Communications, whom I met at TEDxKIDS@BC has offered me his air mattress for the weekend, but this busy bird forgot to book a hotel room, and Tim Comrode has asked me to join the family “his staff, volunteers and kids’ for Gobble Fest Turk-a-lurkey Dinner.

This is what “Immersion and Inclusion” are about. This is what we call community.

I hope you can join me and support this cause that is so close to my heart I am making it part of my own CSR and professional annual giving program AND they are in my will (yes I said will). If you want to leave a legacy, you can’t sit on your hind parts – you gotta get out there and make it happen. Join me and RUN4ACAUSE!

To donate to a direct program visit: http://www.powertobe.ca/?pid=donate_

To donate to “Join my Superhero Campaign” visit:

Pledge Page can be found via CanadaHelps

http://www.canadahelps.org/GivingPages/GivingPage.aspx?gpID=14417

 

About RUN4ACAUSE

I am what you would call a freelance do’gooder of all things bucketlist and philanthropically inclined. (a) Movement & Performance Coach (a) Social Crusader (a) Wannabe Superhero (a) Athlete (a) Advocate for Play (a) Compassion Junkie (a) Womens and Youth Activist (a) runner'of a' muck (a) Chief Fascia Facilitator (Yoga Teacher and MyoFascia Enthusiast) So, here it is, my BHAG (Big Hairy Audacious Goal) TO RAISE $1 MILLION DOLLARS before the age of 35! This is no small 'feet' to take on... A 10 year passion project; by which I harness the power behind the sports philanthropy movement by using my own middle of the pack talent - RUNNING! I am the founder of RUN4ACAUSE, and my goal is simple ~ to combine advocacy with sport and the foundation is to bring awareness to the power behind education, the power of our youth and women's economic empowerment worldwide! This blog is an ongoing Story Telling Series of my RUN4ACAUSE, where I aim to showcase the direct impact WE can make by empowering our youth to transform their world; by mobilizing them to engage in cultural exchange, gain a global perspective, and create and lead social change through the art of sport, and by the power of one voice. Imagine the possibilities! I hope this blog leaves you empowered, inspired and MOVED - so why don't you join me and RUN4ACAUSE!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

